Updates From D.C.

A group from Beveridge & Diamond takes a break from the city at Shenandoah National Park.

Wow, the summer has flown by so quickly!  But it really has been great–I have had some really great experiences with Beveridge & Diamond, have worked on some really fascinated projects, and have actually had a chance to see the city a bit!

Two weeks ago, a group of us from B&D went out to Shenandoah National Park for a day hiking trip.  It was great to get out of the city, see the Virginia countryside, and spend some time outside of the office with some of my coworkers.  Of course, all of the Summer Associates attended, as did a number of the firm’s partners.  The hike was about six hours–definitely a challenge–and really made me realize how many gorgeous places there are all throughout this country!  It’s been easy to get wrapped up in D.C. life this summer, so the trip out to the trails was much needed.

Visiting U of O School of Law students Alex Gibney and Kira O'Connor with author Nadia Dahab on the balcony at the Newseum, looking over the National Mall.

Last weekend, Alex Gibney and Kira O’Connor (both rising 3Ls) came to visit me out here!  It was really comforting to see some friendly faces, and we did so many of the touristy things that I’ve meant to do all summer long.  We went to the National Archives and read the Constitution (the real thing!), visited the American History Museum, the Newseum, ate at Good Stuff Eatery (D.C.’s best burger), and visited Georgetown.

As far as work goes, the best part of this summer has been seeing the practical side of the theoretical education that I’ve been working so hard at.  My background (pre-law school) is in engineering, and in law school, I’ve missed the technical part of my previous job.  At B&D, I’ve seen my two worlds collide, as we work with wastewater treatment plants on Clean Air Act compliance, litigate the merits of biosolids and solid waste importation ordinances, and apply the Clean Water Act to a technical issue of stormwater discharges.  It’s been so fun and has definitely given me a glimpse of what I hope to do more of in the future!

Leave a comment

Filed under DC Intern

Leave a comment